| AltText.ai#1 · 90/100 | Maximum automation and broad image coverage | Per-image credits, monthly or annual plans, and one-time packs | Limited. History entries can be edited, but automatic processing writes alt text in the background rather than using a required approval queue. | Yes. It can run when products or images are created or updated, with configurable triggers. | Product and variant images, collection images, blog images, product-description images, and configured metafield images; official bulk materials also mention theme images. | The default Shopify workflow is automation-first, so teams requiring approval before every write need a more deliberate process. |
|---|
| Lumi#2 · 86/100 | Review-first catalog cleanup | Monthly or one-time generation credits shared across eligible catalog-content tasks | Yes. Merchant-started batches always create drafts for review. Maintain can automate drafts for new-product content and missing image alt text after product updates; enabled automation can publish automatically after you opt in. | Maintain can draft selected new-product content and missing image alt text after product updates. Enabled Maintain automation can publish automatically after you opt in. Maintain also includes 100-page storefront scans every 14 days. | Product-image alt text and publishing approved Shopify Files alt text. | Lumi supports product-image alt text and publishing approved Shopify Files alt text. This does not mean automatic coverage of every collection, blog, or theme image. |
|---|
| Alt Text Pro#3 · 84/100 | Low-cost, high-volume image processing | Monthly AI-image allowances plus unlimited title-based templates | Yes. The listing explicitly says merchants can review and edit each alt text before saving. | Yes. Bulk AI generation can be scheduled in the background. | Products, collections, blog posts, and Shopify files. | The listing does not publicly specify overwrite safeguards, CSV export, rollback, or detailed brand/prompt controls, and the app has very little operating history. |
|---|
| SEO HERO#4 · 83/100 | Keyword, prompt, and formatting control | Monthly image allowances plus optional one-time credit packs | Limited. A live preview is shown in listing materials, but a required approval queue is not publicly specified. | Yes on Premium plans for newly added products. | The current listing copy focuses on product images; gallery text says all Shopify image types, creating an unresolved coverage conflict. | The public listing does not clearly reconcile its product-image wording with its all-image-types gallery claim. |
|---|
| StoreSEO#5 · 79/100 | Broad Shopify SEO tooling | Product, image, AI-credit, and keyword limits by monthly plan | Yes for AI alt text according to the official feature page, which describes review, keep, or revert controls before saving. | Limited. StoreSEO documents broad SEO automation, but new-image alt-text trigger behavior is not publicly specified. | Product images are explicitly documented for bulk alt text. | Stores buying only alt text pay for a much broader toolset, and image, product, and AI-credit limits make cost less directly comparable. |
|---|
| ALT SEO#6 · 64/100 | Set-and-run recurring automation | Monthly image allowances with pay-as-you-go on the free tier | Not publicly specified. | Yes. New-image processing and recurring scheduled updates are documented. | The listing says the entire image catalog but does not enumerate product, collection, blog, theme, or file image types. | Review, existing-content preservation, history, backup, rollback, and CSV export are not clearly specified in public materials. |
|---|
| AltKing#7 · 62/100 | Free product and variant-image templates | Free | Not publicly specified. | Yes. A daily sync updates new product images. | Product and variant images. | It is primarily a variable/template workflow for product images; image-scene analysis, review, history, export, and rollback are not publicly specified. |
|---|